small portion

My first post!

Leave a comment

I’ve been wanting to try this blogging thing out, and get a feel for what on earth I’m doing before I share it with others. So here goes.

We have less than 3 months to go before we leave Melbourne for a European summer, which just seems crazy. The focus is on saving cash, spending time with family and friends, and booking in our holiday.

Pretty soon though, the focus will be on packing up, and getting things like bank accounts and visa’s sorted. Then we’ll finish up at work, move out of our place and we’ll be ready to go!

The prospect of leaving Melbourne so soon is definitely something on my mind, and it’s making me appreciate this wonderful city and all the amazing people and things in it. When I get around to it, I will post about some of my Melbourne faves – and there are many.

I’ll finish off my first post with one recent Melbourne event, White Night.

A couple of months ago the second White Night was on, and we wandered through the ridiculously crowded city streets for a couple of hours. It was pretty amazing to see so many people out and about, and some of the building illuminations were incredible. I loved the NGV on St Kilda Road, that had this huge display of locals and their tattoos.

Here’s one pic, but it doesn’t really do it justice.

While I wouldn’t say White Night was my favourite Melbourne festival, it was still a bit of fun and something different. It feels like there is a different festival or big event on in Melbourne every weekend, and there is always something new to do, explore, eat or buy.

I will definitely miss the place. I’m feeling nostalgic already and I haven’t even packed my bags!

White Night 2014

And there you have it, my first post!

Leave a Reply

