small portion

One month to go!!

2 Comments

It is officially one month until we jump on a plane, with a one way ticket to Rome!!

I’ve handed in my resignation at work, had my UK working visa approved and returned, started to pack up our things at home and organised leaving drinks, dinners etc. The festival of Lisa and Dan leaving has officially started!!

Most of our 2 month holiday is now organised, my amazing parents have given me the BEST GPS (Garmin 3450LMT) with Europe maps on it so we won’t get lost driving around. We’ve also bought paper maps and have got our international driving licences sorted.

We’ve applied for UK bank accounts with HSBC, both have shiny new passports, and organised many other little bits and pieces. So it is now, finally, starting to feel real.

I’ve said to a few people recently that my head has been in two very different places over the last few months. On the one hand, I’m so excited about going to Europe and getting settled in London. Very ready for that.

On the other hand, I have not at all come to grips with the fact that I’m leaving my job, leaving my friends, family and the city I’ve grown up in. These two different head spaces have not yet collided, but I’m sure they will soon.  But on balance, I’m super excited.

In just over three weeks I’ll be unemployed for the first time in 15 years, but as the saying on my fridge magnet that my lovely friend Sharyn gave me says, “life begins at the end of your comfort zone”.  So here goes!

I’m going to share this post with my friends and family now, so please sign up to follow my posts so you can keep up to date with how we’re going, what we’re seeing and who we’re meeting! I’ll try to post updates as regularly as possible without of course distracting from the main game – immersing ourselves in European culture and daily life.

While we’re away I’d love to hear from you all anytime so please keep in touch – smlportion@gmail.com

Lisa x

life begins goa

2 thoughts on “One month to go!!

  1. Lovely sentiments, beautifully written Lisa. Best wishes. XoX

    Like

  2. Love the blog Lisa – I’ve subscribed so I can stay alongside you two as you travel onwards and upwards ….. Love Adele

    Like

Leave a Reply

